Saturday, July 24, 2021
Times of Georgia
HomeWorldIraq: UNESCO Architectural Design Winners To Rebuild Iconic Al-Nouri Mosque Complex

Iraq: UNESCO Architectural Design Winners To Rebuild Iconic Al-Nouri Mosque Complex

Eight Egyptian architects have been awarded the
job of restoring the historic Al-Nouri Mosque complex in
Mosul, Iraq, the UN cultural chief announced on

Selected by an international jury
from among 123 entries in a global competition, the winning
design – called “Courtyards Dialogue” – is a major
component of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural
Organization’s (UNESCO)
ambitious project
to rehabilitate the ancient city.

After years of
control by ISIL extremists and the destruction of the iconic
metropolis when they were driven out in 2017, UNESCO chief
Audrey Azoulay called it “a landmark moment” in
restoring the war-torn city’s “fabric and history” and
helping “reconciliation and social

“Heritage sites and historical
monuments are powerful catalysts for people’s sense of
belonging, of community, and identity. They are key to
reviving the spirit of Mosul and of Iraq as a whole”, she

and re-envisioned

The Egyptian team that won the
competition consists of four partners: Salah El Din Samir
Hareedy, Khaled Farid El-Deeb,Sherif Farag Ebrahim and
Tarek Ali Mohamed. There were also four designer architects
involved:Noha Mansour Ryan, Hager Abdel Ghani Gad,
Mahmoud Saad Gamaland Yousra Muhamed El-Baha.

scooped the award for their imaginative reconstruction of
Al-Nouri’s prayer hall and complex – and for the way it
blends into its surrounding through open public

While the hall will look as it did before the
mosque was destroyed, it will reopen with better natural
lighting and more space for women and visitors.

will be enclosed gardens too, inspired by the historic
houses and gardens that were located around the prayer hall
prior to its 1944 remodeling, according to

International competition

launched the design competition
last November in close coordination with the Iraqi Ministry
of Culture and the Iraqi Sunni Endowment.

In addition
to being awarded the contract for the complex, the winners
will receive a $50,000 prize.

And in recognition of
their work, the runners-up will also receive prizes: $30,000
to a team from India, $20,000 to an entry from Spain,
$15,000 to a team in the United States and $10,000 to a team
of architects from the United Arab Emirates, France, Turkey

© Scoop Media


Source link

- Advertisment -
Times of Georgia Times of Georgia Times of Georgia

Most Popular